Jan. 17, 2020

HARRISBURG – Five local schools are receiving grants totaling $175,000 from the Pennsylvania Department of Education today to expand computer science programs for students, according to members of the PA General Assembly’s York County Republican delegation.

The Central, Dover Area, South Eastern and South Western School Districts, as well as the York County School of Technology, are each receiving a $35,000 grant, which will support the introduction and expansion of computer science programming and provide training for educators to teach computer science to students from pre-kindergarten through high school.

The delegation consists of state Sens. Kristin Phillips-Hill (R-28) and Mike Regan (R-31), as well as Reps. Keith Gillespie (R-Hellam), Seth Grove (R-Dover), Dawn Keefer (R-Dillsburg), Kate Klunk (R-Hanover), Mike Jones (R-York Township) and House Appropriations Committee Majority Chairman Stan Saylor (R-Red Lion).

The grants were awarded through the PAsmart initiative, which looks to bring high-quality computer science and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) education in elementary, middle, and high schools, and professional development for teachers.

A total of 163 schools statewide received grants in the current round of funding.

York County Republican Delegation
Pennsylvania General Assembly

Media Contact: Scott Little